30 day music challenge, day 4

Welp. So my wisdom tooth thing totally derailed my challenge…but I’m going to try to get back on track.

Day 4 is all about a song that reminds you of someone you’d rather forget.  I’m actually going to pick three songs for this one.

Gotye – Somebody That I Used to Know

So, this song reminds me of the Canadian, who I dated twice (ugh).  This song came out right around the time I broke up with him and was basically everywhere.  Later, I found out he associated it with our breakup because of how brutal it was.  Yea…basically a scorched Earth situation there.  It wasn’t my finest hour, for sure.  In any case, we obviously mended shit enough to speak once in a while–because of his efforts and me feeling bad about the whole thing.  Enough that we eventually liked each other again–until he…of course…did really stupid shit and lied quite a bit.  Right now, I’m good with never speaking to him again.  And I’m someone who basically has mended fences with all her exes.  The difference?  My other exes did shitty things, sure…but I don’t think any of it was malicious.  This dude had multiple opportunities to be honest and chose not to.   So, I have a hard time thinking it wasn’t some kind of payback for how I broke up with him before.  In any case, I’m better off without him in my life.  But this song will always remind me of him.  Unfortunately!

Dave Matthews Band – #41

Some songs just show up for you when you need them.  This song is my always breakup song.  It doesn’t matter which ex it was–at some point–I’ve found myself listening repeatedly to this song–singing my heart out–IN TEARS–for hours.  It’s cathartic for me.  So, not for a particular person–just for all the ones who broke my heart.

Roger Clyne & the Peacemakers – Your Name on a Grain of Rice

This song reminds me of a few exes, actually.  The first one intro’d me to it.  Others just happened to love them–which is weird because a lot of people don’t know the band.  But this was one of two songs that one ex intro’d to me that are just mine.  They just fit my kind of love story.  If you ever have dated me, you’ve gotten this song on a mixed CD or heard it on a roadtrip.

Leave a Reply

