heating pad and all

Whoo-boy.  Am I glad it’s finally the weekend.  (It seems like, week after week, the weeks feel longer).

This week, I’ve been particularly exhausted. So much so, that I asked my doctor to increase my thyroid meds.  I think the change in the weather is also contributing along with my actually NORMAL workload.  I’ve had a lot to do, but have mostly been pacing myself.  The problem is that I can’t seem to stay awake after dinner lately. I literally will sit down to watch something and, five minutes later, conk out.  Thursday (I think), I actually fell asleep right after work–didn’t even eat dinner–got up to feed the cats their dinner–and went right back to bed.  And I was sound asleep at 7:30–which is sleeping in just a bit during the week.  I actually did feel pretty refreshed when I woke up–for once.  I think it’s my week of horrible insomnia finally catching up, big-time.  Same thing happened last night–only I woke up at 2 am. I decided to do all my chores early–which meant lugging trash downstairs, cleaning the cat boxes, and cleaning the fridge.  I then explored our sauna since no one would be down there.  I wished the pool was open and then came back upstairs.  Fed the cats early and then decided to take a bath. I ordered groceries while in the bath and stayed in there for 2 hours. It was glorious.  Like my God–why don’t I do this every damn weekend?!  And so now, I am. Because yes.

Groceries came.  I got breakfast delivered. And I’m now sitting with my kitty, drinking coffee, with a heating pad on my feet.  Today actually feels like fall, and I am so happy.

I was supposed to go up to the high country today, but I was feeling rundown mid-week and decided not to.  I’ve seen fall colors a million times, and I’m realizing–more and more–that the film I want to make about Colorado probably isn’t going to be finished by the time I leave.  There’s just too much to do.

I’ve moved before, of course, but this move feels way important.  Like it’s time to rid myself of all the shit I don’t need or love.  So every box is this exercise in contemplation.  I want it to be organized and easy because my last move was a nightmare.  I don’t want to lose a toenail this time.  Plus moving with three cats is a big challenge–if that’s the only obstacle.  We’ll be doing it in winter–right around the holidays–landing there right as the new year begins.

The good news is that I’ve found a mover.  And if we screw the pooch and don’t get it all done in time, they’ll pack us up too.  We’re planning on staying in an AirBnB locally on our last day, so we can keep the kitties away from the movers and cleaners we’re hiring.  And then we can hit the road without losing our minds.

It seems like such a long time, but I know it’ll be here in a blink.  I’m finally investing time and energy into what our home will look like, too, so visualizing that will also come with the packing.

But this weekend, I’m choosing to chill out.  I’ve decided to get down to tacks next weekend and try not to lose my mind.  I’m focusing more on getting rid of crap since we have an emergency plan with the actual packing.  We have some done already, but it’s an exercise in figuring out where to put shit as I continue to try to actually live here.

It’s nice to have a date and most of the details worked out, though. 🙂

Hope your day is lazy and fabulous, wherever you are.

Leave a Reply

