snapshot: 8/17/14-8/23/14

Hey there.  So, I’ve sorta been away for longer than I anticipated.  I took a brief FB/Twitter/blog break for my birthday.  It was nice.  Almost too nice.  I contemplated going away for good.  But I do like y’all, and I have my hermit moments that I probably need to overcome.  In any case, I’m rethinking the how part and coming back a changed woman.  A while back, I used to do this snapshot thing every week.  I’m not sure why I stopped.  But I thought it might be a good thing to resurrect.  Without further ado, here’s my life this week–as a newly minted 36 year old. (Ack).

reading-2

In case you didn’t know, I’m in grad school.  So, um, yea–I read boring things.  Namely, these three texts right now.

trower

renz

toolkit

When I’m not knee-deep in APA style, I’m trying to diagnose myself and my kitty Rilly.

scratch

hormone

I’ll be more interesting in October.

watching-2

 

Masters of Sex is back in full swing for a second season.  Things have been a bit rocky for Bill Masters.  He’s adjusting to life with a new baby and an increasingly controlling wife, new situations with work–all in the name of preserving his study, race relations, and his ongoing interest in Virginia.  It all makes for a fascinating look at humanity–all through the lens of sex and relationships.  It’s hands-down one of my favorite shows.

Now, of course, you need to start from the beginning.  But, if you want to see what this show is all about, please watch “Fight” from Season 2 first.  It really digs into these two characters and also really tackles some tough subjects like what it means to be each gender.  You really get to see both characters struggling with the idea–trying to find definitions they can live with.  I couldn’t find a great clip to share, but here’s a boring sneak peek at this episode.

So, we recently got  a TiVo, and it makes life a little easier–especially when it comes to recording new TV shows.  Since my undergrad days, I’ve gotten in the habit of recording all the new shows and then watching all of them.  Sometimes, this works out great.  Other times, you’re watching New Girl and hating doe-eyed girls you used to love.  (No matter how hard I try to like that show, I always end up turning it off 2 minutes in).

Recently, my experimental ways paid off.  Truth be told, I probably would have tuned in to this show just based on the name.  I wasn’t sure what all to expect.  I actually thought it’d be a cartoon like The Simpsons.  In any case, I really enjoyed Black Jesus on Adult Swim–and I’m shocked as Hell that I did.  I don’t usually like comedy that tries to be “edgy” or “controversial.”  Usually, they spend too much time on the controversy and not the genuinely funny.  But Black Jesus is great–albeit cringeworthy.  It plays with stereotypes–across the board–whether it’s religion, poverty, race, or gender.  Everyone is fair game, and they do take it all the way.  At first, I was really conflicted that I was laughing at stuff that normally, in another format, would make me really uncomfortable.  I hate stereotypes–so, so much.  But then, I realized I was laughing because the truth of the matter is that these stereotypes are alive and well in our culture.  And seeing them in this light really shows how stupid they really are.  It really makes you think about the stuff we all just take for granted and what it really means.  And it does it by being absurd.  A lot of people will probably be offended–and I totally get why.  But I think it’s all in the name of getting us all to think about the stereotypes we’ve reduced other human beings to–and why.  Give it a try.  Maybe you’ll like it, too.

For the last several weeks, my late night TV binge has been True Blood.  I know.  I didn’t expect to like it, but it became a potato chip show for me.  Once you start one episode, you’re 10 in by 4 am.  It hasn’t helped my insomnia.  I finally caught up a couple of weeks ago–just in time for the series finale.  Seven seasons is a lot of vampy sexy whatever.  I never did like Sookie or Bill.  But I’ve always loved Lafayette, Eric, & Sam.  I’m still hoping Sookie will stop chasing Bill and find her way back to my boy Eric.  I mean–come on–look at him.  The last season has been particularly bad, but I guess I can hang in there a little while longer.

lots-5

 

I’ve had short hair for a while now, and I’m probably going to be growing it out for the wintertime.  Short hair is so great for summer, but I honestly do get cold in the winter with it this short.  It’s basically been this cut and sorta this color for the past several months.  The last stylist I went to didn’t get it short enough (sigh), so I’m left with more of the in-between growth that I wanted to avoid for a few more weeks.

current hair

 

I’m thinking of doing something like this with a lot less blonde.  Probably more of a strawberry blonde and maybe a few fun colors thrown in.  Although I am really into browns for colder months.  I probably won’t do this for a couple weeks, though.

hair aspiration

As I mentioned earlier, lately I’ve been thinking a lot about my presence in my own life–whether it’s here on my blog, in the real world, or on social networks.  I’ve been a bit more of a hermit than I like to be, overall.  With good reasons, of course.  I haven’t felt really well in a while, and I’m still trying to figure that out.  Plus, school and a demanding job kind of take up most of my free time.  But I am feeling a push to be more social in a thoughtful way.  In the meantime, since I am busy, a lot of my socializing has to happen online.  But I don’t like how it’s been happening.  So, I guess, if I want change–I have to be the change I seek.

I read this article recently, and I realized I absolutely “like” things to avoid saying something more; to people please; or “be there” for my friends.  It’s a flimsy substitute for actual friendship.  And welp–I’m better than that.  So, from now on, if I do anything on Facebook, it’s going to require some thought and effort.  If I can’t muster it, then I don’t need to act.

I Quit Liking Things On Facebook for Two Weeks. Here’s How It Changed My View of Humanity.

lots-6

close

 

My love of tea, premium chocolates, anything involving almond milk or coconut oil, and avocado.

Ever new ways to be gluten-free and not suffer.

lots-4

acure

This stuff is magic.

oil

Satsuma Perfume from the Body Shop

Aqua moccasins.

Poncho shawls.

Cheap, colorful sundresses from Target.

Lacy nightgowns in pastel shades.

Many tank tops.

lots2-6

 

A very long vacation from school & work…not happening…2 more months of school & new project for work.

To watch:

begin again

wish i was here

guardians

lots-3

califia

honeylav

lots2-4

weather

listening-2

Flashbulb Fires’ Unseen Things

brand new stuff from a favorite local band who apparently wrote this for William H. Macy.

capturing-2

bird

I’m way behind on photo-editing.  This was from this past February at Wash Park.

lots-2

Breakfast this week:
Overnight Oats + Chia  + Dried Fruit + Pecans or Walnuts + Toasted Coconut + fresh fruit (mangoes, strawberries, peaches)

Lunches & Dinners:

Pesto Crusted Lamb Rack with Sun-dried Tomatoes, asparagus, and pepper salad, toasted pistachios, and roasted sweet potatoes

Cocoa-Coffee Rubbed Beef Brisket with mirepoix demi glace, horseradish roasted parsnips, and herb sauteed squash

Tropical Pork with mango-pineapple chutney, coconut cauliflower, and ginger carrots

Fines Herbs Airline Chicken Breast with roasted red pepper-caper sauce, sauteed kale, baked sweet potato

Spicy Old Bay poached chicken, mixed baby greens, celery, onions, heirloom tomatoes, & lemon vinaigrette

Rosemary & Garlic Top Sirloan with sauteed wild mushrooms, green peppercorn sauce, green onion mashed yams, & broccoli

Accompanying all meals: Wild Rice Salad with Dried Fruit & Nuts in an Orange Walnut Vinaigrette

Snacks:

Boar’s Head Roast Beef & Sausalito Turkey + Dill Havarti Lettuce Wraps
Lots of watermelon & pineapple
Multi-Grain Tortilla Chips with Guacamole

Beverages:

Lots of herbal tea, iced

Desserts:

Gluten-Free, Paleo-Friendly Pumpkin Pie Mug Cakes

Bissinger’s Banana Pecan Caramel Peruvian Pink Salt Chocolate Bar

TCHO chocolate bars

Lake Champlain Five Star Chocolate Bar

lots2-3

leave

calm

lots2-5

hunter

lots2-2

My sweet kitties, always.  Even the bad one.

be here

Being here is pretty nice.

sig

Leave a Reply

