stuff and things

Random–mostly because I’m tired and still kind sick.  Getting better, though–so yay.  Real blogging to resume on Sunday-ish. Unless the GRE eats me.

  • Soldier Canyon is on fire.  This makes me truly sad.  Last year, Poudre Canyon–which was one of my favorite places in NoCo suffered a devastating fire that lasted entirely too long and ruined tons of lives.  It’s the same area, pretty much.  And while it seems like too soon, it’s so dry here.  I’m really hoping for torrential rain this weekend (some rain is forecasted, so fingers crossed).
  • I hate fire. Like a lot.  Even though there is an amazing amount of beauty afterwards.  I really should find my photos of the burn areas from a few years ago.
  • I miss the mountains.  A lot.  Been far too long since I’ve been (3 months).  I’m contemplating driving somewhere on Sunday. But the fire will probably make anything doable disappointing.
  • I think the photography bug is back, too. I have this urge to drive the city and take photos of everything.
  • Not that it really ever goes away.
  • I just got rid of so many boxes, the carcasses were taller than I am.
  • Oh yea–I was offered a new job today, and I will be accepting.  I start April 1st–pending background checks and drug screen.  I’ll be Wisconsin for some of April.  Whoo.
  • No, really, I’m happy.  I’ve been interviewing for this position for two months.
  • I’m looking forward to seeing water.
  • While I will still be working from home and it’ll still be at the same insane pace, I’ll be working in a totally different area…and it really is a step up for me financially.  I’m excited to show them what I can do.
  • I am not excited for the drug test.  So much pressure.  I can’t pee on cue!  Remember what happened the last time?  Oy!
  • It’s funny because I kinda knew the minute I got the call from my old colleague that I’d get this job.  That happens.  I know things, sometimes.  It’s why I put up with five different interviews and an IQ test.
  • I like it better when the things I know are good things and not shitty things.
  • I’ve been grappling with perfectionism a lot lately.  That might be a future topic for this here blog.
  • GRE’s tomorrow.  I studied, kinda. I’m kinda dreading quant, but I know I’ll rock the other two.  Because duh.  Well, and my practice tests confirmed it.
  • My last math class (if you don’t count my finance class for the MNM) was 15 years ago.  And it was advanced stats–not calculus or geometry or algebra.  I last studied algebra in 1989, people.  Geometry was 1992.  I’ve always felt like I’ve had a mental block against geometry.  I just can’t think that way.  (No, really–I have a head injury from when I was five.  And no, I don’t ask for special accommodations.  It just is).  I’ve come to peace with the idea that I’m not going to recall all those textbooks.  I’m just not.  And unless I memorize a dictionary, I won’t be bulletproof for the English part.  But when it comes to thinking and expressing, I CAN do that like no one else.
  • I have real problems with standardized testing.  After seeing firsthand how it affects poor children, I really can never endorse it.  I think it’s pretty worthless, and it doesn’t gauge my intelligence.  I did really well on the MAT, so I can do well on these things.  But, for the most part, I’m not good at tests.  I think the key to my success with the MAT was not studying and not second-guessing.  Twenty minutes, in and out.
  • The fact that they allow 4 1/2 hours (!) for this really bothers me.  I have no idea how to plan my afternoon/evening.
  • I think I’ll be fine, though, because it seems to be more about practical application of knowledge rather than multiple choice roulette.
  • I’m still feeling fairly terrible.  Mostly because I’m roasting in this sauna of a bedroom.  I already have a fever (and have had one for days), so I’m just not amused.  I wish this apartment didn’t have building-wide heat controls.  So annoying.
  • I love that I’m the slacker in my group of friends.

_______________________________

Alright…and here are some questions to put me to sleep–at the request of my bestie.

Any names your parents were thinking about that you would prefer?
No.  I actually like my name now–though that wasn’t always the case.  I’ve come to appreciate the history behind it, and I like having tethers to my grandmother/Mama.

If you had to pick one outfit that you currently own to wear for the rest of your life, what would it consist of?
I wouldn’t be so down with that.  I’m a big fan of variety and can be very moody.  I’ve been into a lot of silver-ish gray paired with bright yellow lately.  So, I’d probably go with my gray skirt and bright yellow shirt.  With my cape and my gold shoes.

What do you think is going to happen to you after you die?
I don’t know.  It kinda freaks me out, actually.  Not the being dead part, but the actual dying.  I think that unknown moment would be terrifying.  I’d hope to see my parents and my Papa, though.

What TV show have you seen every episode of?
One of my Mighty List items was to watch every single episode of my favorite shows.  I’m not one of those people who can just jump into a show and start it.  I really have to start with the series.  Homeland, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Girls, Breaking Bad, The Walking Dead, Felicity, The L Word, Emily Owens, Body of Proof, Keen Eddie, Who Do You Think You Are, The Big C, My So-Called Life, Dexter, Dead Like Me, Boston Med, America’s Next Top Model, Project Runway, The Hills, The City, Being Erica, Laguna Beach, Top Chef.  I’m working on Being Human (American) right now.

What movie can you quote every line to?
None.  My memory, when it comes to such things, is getting so bad.

What bands have you seen in concert?
NKOTB (Tiffany opened), Guster, John Butler Trio (twice), Sigur Ros, the fray, Meese, Buddy Guy, Jack’s Mannequin, honeyhoney, Ari Hest, Amy Kuney, Beth Orton, Big Head Todd (multiple times), State Radio, Medeski Martin & Wood, Meklit Hedero, Jackie Greene, Ray Lamontagne, JJ Grey and Mofro, Roger Clyne and the Peacemakers, Hazel Miller, 3Oh3!, Joe Pug, Meg Hutchinson, Ari Hest, Augustana, Reed Foehl, Flobots, Devo, Speakeasy Tiger, Death Cab for Cutie, John Common, Glen Phillips, The Good Lovelies…

What bands would you like to see in concert?
So, so many.

If you had the money to retire anywhere in the world, where would you go?
I’d probably retire in Glenwood Springs or Carmel, CA.

Is there a piece of jewelry or something similar that if you lost, you would feel naked?
Not really.  I used to feel naked without a watch, but I’ve gotten over that.  Maybe my UP band.

What is one thing [appearance-wise or other] you would change about yourself?
Physically, I have a chipped tooth that’s not noticeable or intrusive…it just bothers me.  I’d like to just be healthy and happy.

One thing you would change about your best friend?
I just wish she lived closer.

Everyone remembers their first birthday party that involved friends. Describe yours.
I don’t remember it at all.  But I know there was some sort of sheet cake.  Probably chocolate with white icing.

What do you think is the perfect age and why?
I don’t really like being in my 30s.  I feel like I’m in my late 20s–only really tired.  So, maybe 27-28.

If you could go back in time and change your first kiss, would you?
No.  It was actually kinda perfect.

How many times have you said “I love you” to someone of the opposite sex [romantically] and meant it?
Five times with boyfriends.  A couple with some near-misses.  I always mean it, though sometimes I wonder if what I felt was actually love.

How many times have you said it and not meant it?
Never.  I have said “love ya” to friends–but that’s way different.  And I meant it then, too…but in a friendly way.

Which member of your family has the biggest influence on your life?
I think my father, funnily enough, has been the most influential.  Nearly every part of who I am is because of him.  I can’t tell you how often I’m surprised by something I’ll do that’s so my father.  I’m like my Mama, too, but it doesn’t surprise me as much.

If you won a $1,000 shopping spree to one store, what store would you want it to be?
Savory Spice Shop.  🙂

Which is your favorite comic book movie [The Hulk, Spiderman, Ironman, etc]?
Ironman

If you could go back in time and relive one memory – relive it, not change it – what memory would it be?
I don’t know that I would.  I’ve spent a lot of my time reliving the past.  I think it’s time to live my life now, instead.

How old were you when you learned how to ride a bike?
I still haven’t learned!  My father tried to teach me when I was five, but he died before he finished.  I signed up for lessons a while back, but injuries stopped me from actually doing it.

Who taught you?
Still seeking volunteers.

When you go to the movies, do you like to get candy or popcorn?
I haven’t been to the movies in months and months.  I probably won’t be going anytime soon either.  The Aurora shootings kinda hit close to home.  It’s just not worth it to me anymore.  But, I used to always get a small popcorn with a small Cherry Coke.  Sometimes a hot dog with ketchup and relish if I didn’t eat that day.  Anything more is excessive.

Describe the first real party you ever went to [i.e. first party with alcohol].
A college thing sponsored by the Jesuits.  Ha.

Do you have ONE best friend, who stands out among all the others, that’s been there for you seemingly forever?
Since I’ve been an adult, I’ve had three.

Do you prefer the sound of electric, acoustic, or steel guitar?
acoustic

Have you ever read the Bible – even just a little part of it?
Yep. I’ve even done exegeses.

Have you ever read the Koran?
No, unfortunately.

What was the best pet you’ve ever had?
Cleo and Foggy are my babies.  I also had a black lab that I adored.  Rilke’s growing on me, but he’s SO bad.

Out of all the states you’ve visited/lived in, which is your favorite?
Colorado.  Though I have a soft spot for New Mexico, California, and Oregon.

Do you enjoy jigsaw puzzles?
Not sure I’ve ever jigsawed puzzles.

If you were allowed one murder without punishment, would you do it?
No

Where do you keep your wallet when you’re out and about?
Like I’m telling you that.

Have you ever seen a ghost?
Yep.

How about seen things happen that you think were caused by a ghost?
Yes.

Did you have Beanie Babies as a kid?
After my time.  I would’ve hated them.

Do you prefer stripes or polka dots?
Polka dots

What’s the best Christmas present you ever received?
Time.  And a doll cradle Daddy made for me.

Which of your birthdays was the most memorable?
9th

Name one song you can play on an instrument – any instrument.
Twinkle Twinkle Little Star

Out of all the teachers you’ve had, who had the biggest influence on you?
All of them, really.

Have you ever ridden on a motorcycle?
No.

How about a moped?
Yes

When you were little, what was your favorite Disney movie?
I wasn’t a Disney Girl.  Maybe Lady and the Tramp.

What’s your favorite Disney movie now?
n/a

On the opposite sex, do you prefer muscles, average size, or scrawny bodies?
All over the map, really.  I’ve dated scrawny to buff to a little extra.  I look at the whole person.

What’s the best gift you’ve ever received from a significant other?
Time.

What’s your favorite kind of chips?
I’ve been digging pretzel chips and pita chips lately, but I’m a purist when it comes to potato chips.  I like them homemade with some sea salt.  Maybe some parm.  I also like sesame blue corn tortilla chips.

That you know of, do you have any famous ancestors?
Yep.  A lot of royalty.  Elizabeth, NJ was founded by one of my ancestors, too.

Did you ever beg your parents for a pony?
Yep.  And a perm.  *Cringe*

Would you rather be blind or deaf?
Blind.

Is there someone you’ve been enemies with since you were little, and it’s never changed despite growing up and becoming more mature?
No

What laundry soap do you think smells the best?
Of the commercial brands: Tide.  But I prefer Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day in Basil.

If you’re not dating someone, can you think of one person that you would elope with right now if they asked?
My first thought is hell no.  But then, I think kinda.  But he’s in a relationship, and I’m not a cheater-cheater-pumpkin-eater.

Who do you think is the hottest actor/actress in Hollywood right now?
John Cusack, Mark Ruffalo, Bradley Cooper. 

Do you watch The Office?
I used to.  Haven’t since just before the Pam/Jim marriage.  Mostly because I started working nights and got totally lost.

What’s the stupidest TV show on the air right now?
Two and a Half Men.  Is that still on?

Have you ever written a song or a poem?
Since 1988.

If you have, have you ever written a song or a poem for someone?
Only every day for over a year.  Ah, first love.

What are three ways to win your heart?
1) Be yourself. Like fiercely. Especially if it pisses me off.  2) Challenge me, especially when I’m challenging.  3) Show me you care. Pretty much every relationship I’ve ever had happened because they made me believe they gave a shit.

Do you like lightning?
It really scares me, but I will always try to photograph it.  I much prefer really violent hailstorms to thunderstorms.  Yes, they’re different.

Have you ever cut someone else’s hair?
I used to cut my Mama’s hair sometimes.  And my own.  Which was interesting.  I also cut one of my ex’s hair–to great comic effect.  And I help shave my roomie’s head.  (I dislike grooming boy hair).

Last person you said ‘i hate you’ to?
My roomie, in a playful way. And I said ‘love you’ about ten seconds later.  Also, in a playful way.

Rain or sunshine?
Mostly rain (the good kind) with an hour of sunshine.

Last stupid thing you said to anyone?
I haven’t talked to many people today, and I was pretty coherent when I did.  There are some typo-ridden tweets from this evening, though.  (Brain fried).

Biggest turn off?
I hate when people don’t do what they say they’ll do.  Or when people are intentionally cruel.  Also: lateness without explanation or apology.

Fave movie?
Shawshank

Would you date someone who smokes?
I have, prefer not to.

Would you date someone who was addicted to drugs?
I have–won’t do it again.

What’s your biggest turn on, physically?
Big brains.

Would you have sex with someone you weren’t dating?
Meh.

Have you ever missed someone and regretted breaking up with them?
That’s two separate questions.  I HAVE missed someone.  I haven’t regretted breaking up with them.  Even when they’ve broken up with me, I’ve always eventually been grateful for it.

Have you ever dated someone more than once?
Argh.  Yea.

If you could go on ONE DATE with any celebrity, who would it be?
Probably wouldn’t go there.

What’s your relationship status?
Single. 

Do you like cuddling?
Not as much anymore.  It has its moments.  

Do you hold grudges?
I try not to.  I don’t think I have any anymore.

Do you regret dating anyone?
Ha.  Depends on when you ask me.  No, not really.

Hugger or kisser?
Why can’t I have both?

Missing someone?
Always

Most important lesson you’ve learned from your exes?
Some people are only meant to be in our lives for short periods of time. 

Are you happier single or in a relationship?
I’m happier in good relationships.  Single beats being in a bad relationship any day.

How important are looks?
Everything matters. Though I REALLY have to question my taste in men sometimes, after the fact.  A good, awesome human being makes me a little blind.

Would you rather date someone who was SUPER-HOT or someone who was nice?
Nice, probably.  But less nice and more interesting/good/decent.  High integrity.

Do you stay friends w/ the people you’ve dated?
I’m FB friends with one ex and many near-misses.  I live with an ex.  But I guess those are the lesser-exes–though some of the near-misses are just too dear to lose touch with.  The difference, I guess, is that the ones I’m out of touch with caused major damage or took a long time to own their parts of the bad.  But, honestly, most of the estrangement in my life comes from them.  I’ve never been a cut people off forever sort of person.  I don’t have that amount of venom in me.  I really wouldn’t mind hearing from any of them (except the last one who I just need to stay away from for a long time).  Sometimes, I do wonder if we could be friends at some point.  I know it’d be possible for me, for most of them, but not sure about their part of it.  People heal in different ways.  I have no hard feelings.  Really. And I’m not going to push anything on anyone.  I’m pretty easy to find if they want to interact.

Would you fight over someone you wanted to be with?As in compete?
Um, no.  I did that for a while, and well–if you’re not sure…I’m not your girl.  And I’m okay with that.

Do you kiss on the 1st date?
Sure.

If someone cheated on you, would you take them back if you really loved them?
I have.  I don’t know if I would again.  Depends on the situation.

Some random girl comes up to you and says “who the hell are you”? What do you say back?
I’m Alma.  Nice to meet you.

Are you spoiled?
No.  People thought I was when I was younger because I was an only child.  Yea…they had no idea who I was.

Name three things you would not tolerate in a relationship?
-Not being transparent about feelings.  It’s okay to not know how you feel or to be torn or confused.  But it needs to be communicated.
-People who disappear.  That kinda relates to the other one.  You can be there and not be there, ya know?
-Not being 100% in it.  If either person is at all apathetic, it’s just awful.  I’ve been guilty of this, and it’s so painful–for both parties.

Which one of your friends do you think would make a good prostitute?
No.

Did you miss anyone today?
Not really.  I missed being asleep.

Last person to see you cry?
The roomie.  He’s the only one who ever sees me cry lately.  Half the time, it’s his fault.

Who/what made you cry?
I was really frustrated at myself for feeling like I was not doing enough–even though I’m doing everything I can do.  Old perfectionism rearing its ugly head.  I was mostly mad at myself for feeling what I was feeling–because I knew it was ridiculous.

Are you a forgiving person?
Too forgiving, sometimes.

Would you ever share a girl/boyfriend with your best friend?
No.

I’ve come to realize the last person who gave me a hug…
is a good friend who does the best he can, most of the time.

Are most of your friends guys or girls?
close friends?  equal  overall?  guys

How long does it take you to get ready to go out ?
30 minutes

How many people do you know of named Adam ?
5

What was the last thing you burnt?
Both ends.

What color is the bra you have on now ?
None!  Scandal!

Do you straighten your hair every day?
Nope.

Do you worry about the size of your boobs?
Only when they get in my way–so often.  Ha.

Would you leave the house without makeup on?
All the time.

What’s the biggest turn on about guys?
I like how different they can be from me.

Are you a girly-girl, tomboy, or in the middle?
All of the above.

What color do you absolutely despise?
I think I like them all.

Have you ever stole?
Yep. I was 11. Orange yarn. Clearly, a cry for help.

Have you set your hair on fire?
No?

Do you wear sweat pants?
Yoga pants.

Have you ever ran into a door because you didn’t see it?
YEP.

Last kiss?
No comment.

What bill do you hate paying most?
Rent and some other stupid ones.  Oh, and Comcast.  Mostly because their site sucks, and I hate them.

Where was the last place you had a romantic dinner?
Home

What did you want to be when you were growing up?
a ballerina, then a computer operator, then a zoologist/National Geographic photojournalist

Favorite NON sexual thing to do at night with a guy?
slowdance

When did you first start feeling older?
I was born feeling older.

Favorite guilty pleasure?
really extravagant cheese, truffle anything, cupcakes

What famous person(s) would you like to have dinner with?
Nelson Mandela and Paul Auster

What famous person would you like to date?
I wouldn’t.

Last person whose bed you laid in besides your own?
Roomie.  It was Rilke’s fault.

Have you lost a friend recently?
Yep.

Do you give out second chances too easily?
Probably.

Is it awkward when you run into your exes?
Doesn’t happen much anymore.  Especially since most of them live out of state.  But, yes.

Have you ever changed clothes in a vehicle?
Yep.

Can you make yourself cry?
No.

Is your life simple or complicated?
Simple in its complication.

What is your condiment of choice?
Green salsa, chipotle ketchup, pickled anything, hot mustard

Do you like taking showers?
Sure.  But I like baths better.

Have you ever played foursquare?
Yes! (Got a little excited there).

If you had to choose between eating human testicles or having every hair on your body being plucked out one by one, what would you choose?
Hair.

When was the last time you looked outside?
This evening.

In the event of a zombie Apocalypse, what would you do first?
Mess with the zombies.

Do you think the world will end soon? if so, how?
No.

What’s the capital of Alaska?
Juneau.

Did you shower today?
Bathed.

Is there anyone that gives you butterflies in your stomach?
Not currently.  :/

What color is your underwear?
Purple and white

On average, how many times a day do you think you swear?
22

Habits?
I talk a lot.  I make faces.  I rub my nose with a balled up fist.  I tend to say nothing for the first hour that I’m awake.  I have to sleep with ear plugs and an eye mask in complete darkness.  I bite pens and hold things with my toes.

Vampire, werewolf, or zombie?
werewolf

If you could have some super bad ass power what would it be and why?
the option of being invisible…just so I could be alone.

How long do you usually take in the shower?
15 minutes

What is the closest thing to you that’s blue?
my eyes.  okay…um…scissors.

Can you balance a spoon on your nose?
maybe

What do you usually wear to bed?
lately?  nothing. for health reasons. seriously.

Do you know any good jokes?
No.  I hate jokes.  I can’t ever be intentionally funny.

Who would win in a fight between a grilled cheese sandwich and a taco?
Breakfast taco.

Have you ever been sent to a mental hospital?
No.

Have you ever done “nasty” things with someone?
Yep.

Favorite word?
Via.

Have you ever attempted suicide?
No.  I did think about it at one point, though.

If you were to become president what law would you change first?
I’d send Rush Limbaugh to Mars.

What holiday would you get rid of?
President’s Day

What holiday would you create?
Suck it Dick Cheney Day.

Do you think you’d be assassinated?
No.

Have you ever made out with your pillow?
No.  Carrots, yes.

Are there any songs that make you want to take of your clothes?
Yep.  There’s a reason it’s titled Fuck Dub.

Do you like to dance when you’re by yourself?
Yep

Do you have any diseases, disorders, syndromes?
asthma, mostly.

Do you take any meds?
asthma meds, birth control 

Do you prefer to be naked or clothed?
naked, lately. it’s hot in here.

Do you sleep with your socks on?
no–unless it’s cold.

What’s your favorite thing to do on a summer night?
stay up late, talking with friends, listening to music…outside.

Do you like it when snowflakes land on your eyelashes?
No.

At your funeral, would you like people to be dressed in all black, or be spontaneous & expressive?
Purple. But there will be no funeral.

When you hear the ice cream truck, what’s the first thing you think of?
child molesters  

What’s your perfect type of weather?
Rainy, but sunny too.

When you wake up in the morning, do you think of anyone?
not really

If you could change the color of light, what would you change it to?
amber

What’s your favorite instrument?
piano

Do you get butter on your movie popcorn?
Sure.  A little.

What song affects you every time you hear it?
#41 DMB

When I say “summer,” what image is painted in your mind?
breezes

What’s your favorite number?
9

What reminds you of your childhood?
cherry freeze cups

Do you want to get married someday?
yes

How many kids?
Open, but yes.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?
Art therapist.  Running a nonprofit.

What’s your favorite smell?
Rain.  Clementines.

Do you think printers are evil?
Some.  My current one is okay.

If you could escape anywhere, where would you go?
Anywhere sounds pretty good right now.

Do you like dinosaurs?
I’m a velociraptor.

What do you want for your birffday?
Um…plane tickets. And cake. And many moments with good friends.

If you could capture any sound in a bottle & keep it there forever, what would you pluck from the air?
My Mama’s voice.

If you could lock anything away, what would you put in a safe? (metaphorically & literally)
I wouldn’t.

Leave a Reply

