jonesin’ for spring

I’m slowly getting through a ton of the old photos from last year.  Most of them were taken when it was gorgeous out.  Of course, it was gorgeous for most of the year.  We were, after all, knee high in desperate drought conditions.  You’d never know it from the looks of today.  It’s coming down pretty good–nice, big flakes.  This is what Denver winter is supposed to be like, y’all.  Eight inches is what we’re supposed to get.  I’m tempted to go out for a walk in this “blizzard.”  (snort)

 (I think I might be becoming a winter person.  *gasp*).

Anyway, thought I’d share some of the photos I took last spring.  I have a hunch this will be our last real snow this year.  Forecast suggests it’ll be too warm from here on out.  Which is fine with me.  I’ve always preferred rain to snow.  And please let there be buckets.  I don’t want friends to lose their homes again this summer.

______________________________________________

I’ve always liked the doors to this apartment building.  I think it’s near 12th and Washington.  Someone told me one that it’s one of the apartment buildings some famous poet stayed in once.  I’m not sure how true that is, but the doors are nice.

DSC_0009

Cap Hill cone zone.

DSC_0016

This is a pillar near South Broadway and Alameda.  You’ll find interesting old things looming with the chain stores and antique store down in this part of West Wash Park.  I think we were at the Starbucks, on our way out of town.  I stayed in the car and took pictures.

DSC_0032

This was taken on Lincoln, on our way back up toward Colfax–to catch 6th or 25 or something.  I think it was 6th.  Anyway, I’m in love with Australian Shepherds, and this guy posed perfectly for me.

DSC_0035

A lot of people don’t know you can visit Red Rocks whenever you feel like it (with a few exceptions).  Last April, we decided to get up at buttcrack to watch the sunrise.  It was a beautiful Sunday morning–super chilly–and there were tons of college kids there for a photography class.  It truly is something everyone should do.  Very different from the experience you get at concerts–though just as pretty.
DSC_0643

DSC_0803It was COLD.  This guy was dressed appropriately.  I wore a hoodie and lusted after his gloves/hat.

DSC_0659

They were very excited and frostbitten.
DSC_0661


DSC_0677

DSC_0683 DSC_0685

DSC_0809

DSC_0818

DSC_0858

DSC_0874
IMG_2505

One of my favorite shots of the morning.

IMG_2508

DSC_0699

We stopped by Lakeside Amusement Park after Red Rocks and picked up pecan sticky buns from Wooden Spoon before going home.  Love the history here.

DSC_0965

Leave a Reply

