six song sunday: deux

Finished my course last night.  And about two minutes after, I came down with the food poisoning–which is making me vow never ever to eat chicken prepared by anyone other than me or the roomie.  Seriously.  I’m writing this at 1 am, with a heating pad plastered on my stomach and two giant pills chock-full of happy bacteria in my belly.

At least it didn’t happen four hours earlier, right?  Right.

I’m glad the course is over.  But I’m no closer to degree in hand, unfortunately.  This was a space-filler course…but a good one, with a new professor who gave my favorite a run for his money.  It’s nice when a professor gets you.  A rare find.

This week’s mix is about nostalgia because this time of year gets under my skin, sometimes.  I start jonesing for flowers–hence, the spring-timey happiness of yesterday’s flowers.  I’m vowing to do nothing but heirlooms this year.

Hope your Saturday was appropriately lazy, unlike mine, and your Sunday is appropriately worthy of smiles.

sig

___________________________________

You probably already guessed this about me, but–as a kid–I was a bit of a school girl.  With good reason.  I got it in my head somewhere along the line that I was going to college, and–well–we didn’t have money for that.  So, I made it my mission in life to fund my own education.  And so, I spent a lot of time doing things that made me well-rounded and impressed scholarship committees.  Luckily, it worked.

Anyway, I used to do these competitions.  Often, they were held in Greeley or some other rural part of the state.  I’ll always remember this song playing as we drove up 25, with the windows down in winter, because they kept heating up.  It just reminds me of a simpler time when I didn’t realize how incredibly lucky I truly was.

Hootie & the Blowfish – Hold My Hand

I wanna run with you.

My third serious boyfriend–and the first of the series of Js I dated–introduced me to Roger Clyne & the Peacemakers way back in 2005. We were only together 3-5 months (the months after Mama’s death are a bit hazy).  We were probably doomed on a lot of levels.  He was the opposite of me, in every way, but had great knowledge/taste in music.  The grain of rice song on the same album was “our song,” and I love(d) it–but…honestly, I always wished it had been this song.  The end of that relationship basically prompted me to take over a year off from men–essentially becoming a “nun,” which culminated in me meeting my second major love.  That love was also obsessed with RCPM and music in general.

Roger Clyne & the Peacemakers – Nada

There ain’t no moral to this story.

Around my last birthday, I went on a crazy long roadtrip that ended up being terrifying and disappointing (thanks to drought and fires).  I spent most of the day listening to this album, mostly because I brought just one CD and had no radio.  Rural Colorado in August is INTERESTING.  I almost died on the way home.  Last time I’ll drive in pitch dark, torrential rain.  Did I mention it was my birthday?  Anyway, this is my forever favorite of theirs.

Tegan & Sara – Don’t Confess

It’s a little cold outside.

In college, I had my own radio show.  I mostly said nothing and just played music with the occasional PSA I created in radio production.  It was a small campus, so it wasn’t unusual for people to call in and request songs from the DJs.  No one ever requested songs, but they always called to tell me they loved what I played.  It made me smile.

I still love the song, and now, it’s my secret weapon in beating my roomie at karaoke.  Well, that and Whitney Houston.  Of course.  🙂

Cardigans – Lovefool

Mama tells me I shouldn’t bother.

Music tends to be really important to my relationships with people.  My first love/serious boyfriend was into a lot of music I never heard before–or things I had heard, but hadn’t really paid attention to.  We were incredibly cheesy sometimes (our song was John Mayer’s Wonderland…haha).  I was 24, and I thought I’d met the forever guy.  Ya know?  It was sweet and silly and perfect until it wasn’t.  Anyway, he loved INXS, and until he reminded me, I forgot I loved them too.  This song is my favorite, one of the less nostalgic ones in terms of childhood, but one that reminds me of what love is supposed to feel like.

INXS – Afterglow

Bathed in blue, the walls of my memory divide the thorns from the roses.

I call this the Ohio song.  No one ever knows what song I’m singing because I usually get stuck on the “hey, ho, where did you go O-HI-O” part.  It’s one of those songs that gets into my head so often–and has for years and years.  It’s like I get possessed and just have to sing it.  I used to sing it and dance around my office–much to my co-workers’ amusement.  If I’m dancing, chances are this is playing (or Prince’s Kiss).

The Pretenders – My City was Gone

My childhood memories slowly swirled past like the wind through the trees.

Leave a Reply

